Posted by: thatjen | February 2, 2009

Top Ten Reasons I am a Cranky Bitch Right Now

1.  The Government: The IRS and SSA make it way more complicated than it needs to be to get certain forms, such that I have to go in person to obtain forms that they are supposed to mail to me.  And I can only go M-F from 8:30-4:30.  I work, at minimum, 8:15-3:45 (in reality 8:00-4:30 or later) and the only local office is at least 30 minutes away.  This happens annually.

2.  The Government: Attempt number two to get a SSN for Teddy appears to have failed.  I say “appears to” because the SSA cannot release any information over the phone unless you can provide a SSN.  Commence endless loop….  So I have to go in person AGAIN to go through the process.  They are open M-F, 9:00-4:00.

3.  The Government: We can’t get married, so Cait can’t do this.  I’m Teddy’s only legal parent right now, which means I have to go in person with him to reapply.

4. The Government: The last time I went to apply for Teddy’s SSN, they insisted that the documentation I had to prove he was alive (yeah, him, that baby I was holding in my arms) was possibly insufficient.  I assume that’s why that application presumably failed, but since I have received no correspondence, I can’t know for sure.  However, I’m not taking that chance again, so I have to go in person to the pediatrician to get the required documentation. I could ask them to mail it but the longer we wait for the SSN, the longer we have to wait for our tax refunds, which we need because we have to pay adoption costs.

5.  The Government: Speaking of which, Natalie’s second parent adoption required one court date, scheduled at 11 am.  An 11 am court date means a full day off work, especially in the world of teaching.*  The new judge, appointed since Natalie was adopted, requires TWO court dates, the first of which will again take place at 11 am.

6.  The Government: We get crap ass parental leave in this country, so I have very few hours of leave left.  I’d like to use what little time I have to go to my sister’s and my brother’s college graduations and oh, you know, have something in reserve in case *I* get sick. Instead, I get to go to the SSA, and court, and court again.  And take LWOP if I want to go to the graduations, I guess.

7. Work: I had a staff meeting this afternoon that I had completely forgotten.  And it was SUCH a good use of my time.  Oh yeah.

8. The Weather: I want more snow.

9. The Sick: Natalie has an amazing talent for getting sick when fun school events are scheduled.  She missed the Halloween party because of the stomach flu, and she missed a museum field trip today because of a feverish, snot- and cough- fest of a virus.

10.  My Brain: Time was, I could have made this post interesting, and funny. Not so much anymore.

But, since writing this post, I have come up with The Number One Reason I am Not Quite as Cranky Any More:

1. Warm Ghirardelli Triple Chocolate Brownies.

*Subs can only do half or whole days, not smaller increments of time

Responses

  1. Totally and absolutely understandable. *hugs* Sorry we couldn’t stay longer last night to help with de-stressing.

  2. De-lurking to say I hear you on “the government”.

    Fatherinlaw works for 30+ years for the government, becomes disabled due to car accident.

    Paralyzed from mid-chest down – BUT!! According to said government, he’s able to do other jobs. No pension, no SSD, no nothing. Currently in appeal, but seriously? Other jobs?

    Boy, do I understand the government – all too well.

    Try and keep your chin up – you are your family are just wonderful!

  3. Totally understandable annoyances…heck, I’m annoyed FOR you.

    The brownies sound delish though.

  4. I had the same SSN issue with Gus- they told me that his birth cert was only proof he was born, they needed proof he was still alive- and apparently the 2 hours he screamed while we were waiting was not enough.

  5. GRRRR.

    Although now you’ve got me contemplating brownies….

  6. That sucks! This probably won’t make you feel any better, but it’s not just US govt – it’s govts everywhere…if it makes sense they simply won’t do it that way, and the more paperwork the better. We’re in process of adopting out of foster care…did the course, did the homestudy (with assigned super-Christian homophobic adoption worker), final report submitted (it actually included a sentence about how we’d “expose our children to heterosexuality”) and now we wait…and wait…and wait. After several ‘phone calls it turns out submitted paperwork has disappeared and they didn’t even know it was missing ’till we called. So we wait…so do 1700 adoptable kids in our province. Still no approval, still no adoption – it all hinges on a 16 page homophobic report that is lost god knows where. Makes me want to withhold paying taxes – what the hell am I paying for???


Leave a Reply

Categories

