Posted by: thatjen | February 23, 2009

A New House!

We could use another bedroom, and more storage… elbow room in general. Unfortunately, we won’t be getting them anytime in the foreseeable future, but if we can’t, at least the kids can. We’re giving Natalie a dollhouse for her birthday, but don’t have room for a traditional one (see above). After seeing a suggestion for making a collapsible house from foamcore in a magazine, we decided to do a sturdier version using plywood. I’d write more, but Teddy has other ideas, so I’ll let the photos tell the story.

Measuring

Measuring

Using those junior high shop* skills

Using those junior high shop* skills

*only they called it “Industrial Arts” !
Mocking up wallpaper

Mocking up wallpaper

Installing wood flooring

"Installing" wood flooring

And kitchen tile

And kitchen tile

Aerial view

Aerial view

Bathroom

Bathroom

The BEST part: It stores flat

The BEST part: It stores flat...

...like THIS!

...like THIS!

Photos of the finished version will have to wait a bit.

The only thing we don’t like about it is that it is weeks and weeks until her birthday!

Responses

  1. That is awesome!! Hands down, you have just won as BEST MOMS EVER!!

  2. That is the BEST! It is a totally great idea and I thought how perfectly something like that would work for people in my line of work (child therapist) if they have little room, were traveling etc! I love it! you guys are super talented!

  3. wow! that is amazing. it looks fantastic. n is going to LOVE it!

  4. Smell you! I totally see a side business, ladies! First order? ME! Quote me a small fraction over the cost I parts and labor, and SOLD! 😉

  5. Seriously… You really should go into business. I have a daughter the same age as Natalie, and I would totally buy one for her birthday coming up at the end of March! Or if you would like to sell your plans/instructions – I would purchase that instead and put my shaky shop skills to work. They called it Industrial Arts at my hippie Waldorf/Montessori-blend school as well. We had a welding component in addition to the woodworking – I’m not sure what they were thinking, giving a class full of 12 year olds blowtorches! 🙂

  6. I thought the same thing…they could sell these!
    Super cute!

  7. Very impressive. I love that it stores flat.

    If you need more space there are lots of houses for sale up here 🙂

  8. That is too damn cute! I am very impressed! I can’t wait to see the finished product!

  9. That is AMAZING! I love it!

  10. That is fantastic! What a beautiful doll house. How can you stand to wait to give it to her?!

    (I ADORED shop and am now completely smitten with your nice power-tools set-up. A jigsaw–swoon.)

  11. Ah, yes, the workshop. That’s part of the value of living in the “commune” – the community area does include a decently outfitted workshop, at least for now (there are always discussions about using the room for some other purpose). That jigsaw is vintage, and I mean that seriously. I should take a picture of the box sometime.

  12. That’s a real sexy picture of Jen with that jigsaw.

    LOVE the wallpaper! I’d like to set up a playdate to come play with the house. And I mean ME and Nat.


Leave a Reply

Categories

