Posted by: thatjen | March 6, 2009

For These Things I Am Grateful

I’m getting a wide array of gifts for my birthday, including 1) a visit from the social worker, 2) the strong probability of a photo-generated speeding ticket from my commute this morning (new camera! who knew!), 3) the bad Daylight Savings Time and 4) um. Something good. Hmm. I think it says something about my psyche that I had this post planned out with the four things I wanted to list, one of which was good and THAT is the one I can’t recall….

[Pause to call wife and check with her. In which 1) I call my OWN cell phone first and then 2) when I eventually do get her, SHE can’t remember either. Clearly, one thing we are not getting for my birthday is much sleep or capacity for clear thinking.]

So, as I was saying, as if the social worker weren’t enough (she cancelled yesterday due to an emergency court appearance – we had the option to reschedule for later but did NOT want to have to scour the house top to bottom yet again, so opted for the special fun birthday visit), I think I garnered a speeding ticket on my way in due to the telltale flash as I went down the hill. Shortly thereafter NPR informed me that it is DST this weekend. Now I don’t know about you, but I hate DST for so many reasons, not the least of which is that I don’t %$^&*^@# understand it. I can never remember which way the clocks go, and worse than that, even when told which way to move the clock I still have a hard time figuring out what that MEANS. More sleep? Less sleep? Huh? The sleep thing is pretty irrelevant now that we have kids, which just makes it even more frustrating and annoying because THEIR clocks don’t reset. But I believe this is the iteration of DST that people without children consider the “bad” one because they lose an hour of sleep. We’re having a brunch on Sunday and certain childless people (ahem! brother! cough!) were already muttering about the early start time. With added DST fun, I don’t think we’ll be seeing them till tea time.

Anyway, despite all this grousing, I am getting or have already gotten some truly good material things, too (namely a Wii Fit, which came early and is a blast, and an absurdly expensive but beautiful laundry hamper from the Container Store… yes, I am at that sad age when a really boring and utilitarian household item is a great and much-wanted gift) but what is making this birthday really worthwhile is my family.

I’ve been on this earth for 38 years now (!!) and it’s only been the last three that I’ve had kids, of course. These have been the richest and most rewarding three years of my life. The days are full – full of madness, full of fun, full of stress, full of laundry/bills/snotty noses/dishes/clutter/goddamn nursery school glitter but also full of joy and wonder. I can barely remember my life before them, and I don’t miss it. For the second year in a row, I got a homemade birthday card from Natalie (and the concomitant early spilling of the beans last night with the stage whispered, “Mama? Can we give Mommy the card we made?” when I arrived home from work).

And I have a real Coke from Ireland with sugar (not corn syrup) to celebrate with. πŸ˜€

Social worker, parking ticket, DST be damned. Who could ask for anything more?

Responses

  1. Happy birthday from a no-longer-lurker.

    And not to indulge your (presumed) Coke habit, but (in case you didn’t know) US Coke made with real sugar (for Passover) should be available in spades right now (or pretty soon). Usually it’s just the 2-liter bottles, though.

  2. happy birthday! here from l&f

  3. Personally, I enjoy this particular DST for two reason:

    1. It’s not light out at 5:55 am which means my child might sleep past 6 again.
    2. It’s not dark at 5pm which means I can drive home and enjoy some daylight AND maybe my child won’t want to go to bed the minute I get home from work.

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!

  4. FYI your local grocery store’s Passover section will have lots of Coke made with sugar because the corn syrup isn’t kosher for Passover. Just saying, in case you felt like stocking up!

  5. Happy birthday, Jen!

    I’m with you on hating the time change. We’re not an agrarian society anymore, and all of our sweatshop factories have electric lights… we just don’t need it. But FWIW, I always have to repeat the “spring forward, fall back” mantra to remember which way to set the clocks.

    May you get many hours of extra sleep this year!

  6. Happy Birthday!

    And yeah, DST can suck my whatever! HATE HATE HATE it.

  7. HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!!!!!
    Hate the spring forward bit too. ugh.
    xoxo

  8. I’m down with the KFP Coke. I look forward to it EVERY spring. And usually blog about it. Check the archives! πŸ˜€

  9. Happy Birthday Jen!

    We all hope things took a turn for the better and that you are enjoying your weekend.

  10. My Partner is also 38 and has enjoyed co-parenting my kiddos with me. Happy Birthday!!

  11. I’m late to the party but I hope you had a happy birthday. (I got a speeding ticket last week, too. Damn cameras)

  12. Happy Birthday!

  13. Update us, girl! How did the social worker visit go??

  14. Mmmm, I’ve heard tell of this delicious real sugar coke. Yes, please. I believe they sell cane sugar Dr. Pepper in parts of TX.


Leave a Reply

Categories

